Gatesville – Day One

Everyone was nervous for the first day of clinical. Not only was it our first day in a South African hospital, where things are done quite differently, but it was our first time with mothers and babies. I felt less than prepared, only having had two lecture classes the previous week.

Walking into Gatesville Hospital, we were immediately welcomed by the Sisters (nurses) of the Maternity Ward. And within 10 minutes of being on the unit, I was gowned up and in theater watching my very first Caesar (C-section) being performed. It was a much more graphic and intense surgery than I ever expected, but witnessing the start of a new life was incredible.

After the baby was wiped down, assessed by the pediatrician, and given a stamp of good health, the father came over. As per Muslim tradition, he whispered a prayer into his son’s ear. And then he was presented to his mother.

I know people always say how beautiful and emotional birth can be, but I never really believed them, seeing only the scientific aspect of it. But the look on the mom’s face when she kissed her new baby boy helped me see it. For 9 months she had been waiting, and here he was.

The little guy was 3190 grams and 45 cm long. A healthy boy with a strong cry, but an other wise mild temperament. I think I’ll always remember this little boy, how I saw his very beginning, and cuddled with him at just 5 hours old. He was by far the cutest baby in that nursery.

Successful first day I’d say,

Nicole

2 thoughts on “Gatesville – Day One

  1. Hi Nicole!!! Sounds like you have been very busy! Your stories are amazing and I’m sure being there is quite the adventure. Different cultures and way of life. It such like such an awesome experience. We are thinking of u and miss and love ya back in the states here.

    Looking forward to seeing some pics of you and your adventures. Please keep us updated. And definately loveeee reading your posts. Thank so much for sharing. Talk to ya doon:)))) (((((HUGS))))
    Dawn

    Like

Leave a comment